It's illegal to catch or throw the ball. The ball must rebound from the hit. Ball Crossing the Net Outside the Crossing Space. The ball must cross the net within the crossing space. The ball must cross over the net, between the antennaes and their imaginary extension, and without contacting the ceiling. Reaching Over the Net.
“Ugly” Is Not A Ball Handling Violation by Corny Galdones. Ball handling judgment is perhaps the most important officiating skill for a volleyball referee. Ball handling is the core of the game. Every time any player contacts the ball, that’s ball handling in one form or another.
Ball Handling Errors. There are several ways to commit ball handling errors in volleyball. If a player contacts the ball illegally, the up or down referee will call for a violation and that player's team will lose that point. Touching the ball two times in a row, or committing a double, is a common ball handling error.
first referee is the official on the stand and is responsible for ball handling violations. There is no other sport that requires every touch of the ball to be judged whether or not the contact was legal expect Volleyball, which makes it one of the most difficult games to officiate. Coaches, players, parents, and fans watch and play. In USAV and
Although a referee might lean toward calling more ball-handling violations than not, it is best practice to consider several factors first. Instead of trying to be considered either tight or loose with ball handling, consider how much official intervention is adequate to effectively officiate the match.
hence, only the most obvious violations will be whistled. Therefore, when a player is not in a very good position to play the ball, the R1 will be less severe in his/her judgment of ball handling faults. The referees should enhance the excitement of volleyball by allowing the spectacular elements of the
1. Can The Ball Hit The Net While Serving In Volleyball? Yes, the ball is allowed to hit the net. If it goes over it’s a fair serve, if it doesn’t, the serving team loses the point and possession. Prior to 2001, if the ball hit the net it was a service error whether it went over or not. 2. Can A Player Touch The Net In Volleyball?